Royal Photographic Society – My Portfolio

More of my pictures. These formed a portfolio I presented to the Royal Photographic Society for a Licentiate qualification. The panel went down well, and was published in the RPS book PORTFOLIOONE.

Taken at the Tate Modern, London, during a Kandinsky exhibition. I made a visual “joke” of part of the name.

Jet trails composition

Jet Trails and Jetliner.

I think I caught the plane in the perfect position. Looked better as monochrome.

Tottori Beach View

View from Famous Tottori Dune

View from the top of Tottori Sakyu (Tottori Dune)

Tate Modern composition with aircraf

Tate Modern with Plane and Clouds

Another image featuring the Tate Modern and an aircraft.

Beach with children in winter.

Winter Joy at the Beach

Even in winter, the beaches around Britain are often enjoyed.

Birds over the Isle Of Wight

Pattern of Birds. Isle of Wight in the Distance

This is one of my favourites. The foreground is the sea wall at Pennington Marshes, near my former home. In the background is Tennyson Down on the Isle of Wight.

Bournemouth Pier

Bournemouth Pier with Clouds

One of the numerous “Pleasure Piers” that dot the British seaside.

Bournemouth derelict beach apartments

Disused Beach Huts, Bournemouth.

Another picture in Bournemouth, a favourite hangout of mine on the south coast of Britain.

Tottori Dune

Tottori Dune with Tiny People

Another of my favourites. Same day as the other pictire above.

Canary Wharf, London

Canary Wharf Skyscraper with Cleaning Cradle.

Near my London workplace, Canary Wharf always fascinated me visually.

Many people seem to stick to a theme in their photos; I even saw an exhibition at Nikon’s gallery in Osaka, with about 40 photos of monkeys taken at a monkey park on one visit. I try not to see my pictures as records related to a theme, but as “pictures” that mean something to me emotionally rather than purely passing on information. If they touch other viewers then I am happy. That is my idea of my art.

When I presented this portfolio I was required to provide a “link” if not a factual “theme”, so I said they were “architectural”. Maybe you don’t see it, but to me there is a pattern in each that is architectural in my eyes.

Portfolioone

my PORTFOLIOONE spread

This entry was posted in Art, Photographs and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Royal Photographic Society – My Portfolio

  1. Saunved says:

    I really love your pics. SO, I have nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award. Please check out this link for more info.
    http://saunved.wordpress.com/2012/08/01/very-inspiring-blogger-award/

Leave a comment