White Day ホワイトデー

Pi sign

This morning I saw on CNN that today, March14, or 3.14, is Pi Day. This is because the mathematical value Pi, to 2 decimal places, is 3.14. In fact the value of Pi, as far as anyone knows, goes on forever. However, probably because nobody has worked out how to make money from Pi, March 14 is celebrated in Japan as White Day, or ホワイトデー in Japanese. White Day falls exactly a month after Valentine’s Day. On White Day men are supposed to present chocolates or other gifts to women who gave them chocolates on Valentine’s Day. It doesn’t take an Einstein to work out who invented White Day.

Unlike in the West, Valentine’s Day gifts are not given to only somebody one has a Romantic attachment to, or wishes to have. In Japan Valentine chocolates are given not only to loved ones (honmei-choco 本命チョコ) but also to colleagues, bosses, teachers etc. called obligation chocolate (giri-choco 義理チョコ).

I moved from England to Nishinomiya, Japan in February 2008. During that year we started doing Japanese – English translation work, mainly for universities and local city offices. The next March I bought a small English school in Kawanishi.

Recently we have decided to “grow” the translation business, and set up JaM Academic Translations in late 2011. I am at present in the middle of creating a website for the business, and have also made a Facebook page. Please have a look at these and comment if you have any advice which will be received with thanks.

My wife had been living in the UK for almost twenty years, so she was almost a gaijin (foreigner in Japan) herself. I find Japanese culture and customs really fascinating, so I am really obliged to my English school students, as well as my translation service clients for helping me to learn about them and enjoy them.

This entry was posted in Life in Japan and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment